Wear My Umbrella

umbrella skirt1

Italian lady Cecelia Felli sees more than just protection from the elements when she looks at an umbrella.

“Some time ago, around home I found this umbrella, very pretty, but broken.  So I saved both the handles and the fabric too, because I was sorry to throw them in the garbage.  Looking at the umbrella fabric and shape, I noticed that there was a similarity in shape with a skirt.  This is how I got the inspiration! Since I was young, in my family I’ve been used to reusing objects, not to trash them if it wasn’t necessary.”

Felli’s umbrella skirts are not only pretty and inventive, but they are entirely reclaimed from the fabric of old umbrellas.  They are also one-size-fits-many, with an adjustable piece of fabric at the waste, and their inherent design makes them perfectly suited for a feminine twirl.

“In design I like the use of natural elements in the everyday life’s objects…the transformable products, the artisan way to work and project. I like also the iconic, ironic, amusing design. I’m a very curious person, determinated, essential, coherent, respectful.”

Cecelia currently makes these skirts by hand, one by one, but hopes to produce them on a larger scale in the near future.  You can purchase one here!

umbrella2

umbrella3

3 Responses

  1. Wow, what an idea. Not sure if I’ll be able to pull the look off, but those skirts do look pretty!

  2. I love, love, love these skirts! How fun!

  3. This is a GREAT idea! are those umbrellas still waterproof? If they are they would be handy rain-wear. Tres chic.

Leave a Reply

